How is the iPhone Made in China?

Image

Thousands line up for Foxconn jobs in Zhengzhou

After reading a New York Times article, I feel grateful I have the freedom to choose my internship because Chinese students do not have that privilege.  In Zhengzhou, China, university students are forced to intern at FoxConn, the maker of the iPhone for Apple as a requirement for graduation. According to Li Quang, the founder of Chinese Labor Watch, “it is a very busy time with the new iPhone coming” Students work overtime, and schools close because they need to meet the requirements of mandatory internship.  FoxConn has officially denied this. Work is a good thing, but  there needs to be a balance. Working over forty hours a week is inefficient: people are more prone to accidents, and there is little or no time to study. I feel grateful to live in a country that allows my the freedom to choose my where I work and where I study. Although workers gain technical experience, many who are not technical students are forced to work in an irrelevant career.

2 thoughts on “How is the iPhone Made in China?

  1. Indeed, I have often been troubled by the industrial labor situation in areas like China, thinking about, for example, the manufacture of electronic items. There may be problems with the manufacturing companies themselves, but clearly a primary catalyst to the greater problem is the companies that commission the work, which do so because commissioning the work to areas like China is so inexpensive compared with other options. Unfortunately I am writing this with a measure of hypocrisy because I use many products that are manufactured in this way.

Leave a Reply

